Tuesday, September 30, 2008
Art of MY Life!
Friday, September 26, 2008
Presley Meets her Jungle Friends.
Presley got some new jungle friends! Wade and I decided that it was time for Presley to get a bouncy! She is always trying to grab things and wanting to stand, so as much as we love holding her to do these things we also needed a backup plan and a little help. We put her in this when Wade and I are eating dinner, or if I'm cleaning house and she loves it! I hear her laughing and cooing at all the animals and sounds. She also goes crazy on her bouncing skills, she is swinging all over the place in that thing! I'm glad she loves it...it gives mommy's arms a huge rest!I highly recommend this product, the springs(they are covered so no pinching can occur) are great for allowing her to move on her own, the colors are bright and there are all sorts of textures for her to feel.




Monday, September 22, 2008
Return of the Poopy Pants!
HANDS DOWN, I have the worst luck with POOP! This is another story...so I'm warning you ahead of time! So it was a fine Saturday afternoon, and Presley and I were playing when I heard her poop. I casually just peeked into the backside of her diapers and realized her poop was going up her back, when I got some on my fingers. So I took her into the room and changed her. Well the moment I finished changing her, my sister called me to ask a score about a game that was on TV (thanks Maritza). Well I'm easily distracted these days...actually more FORGETFUL, so in the mist of changing diapers and finding out the score I forgot my "poopy fingers". Once I got off the phone with her, I decided I wanted to make myself a sandwich for lunch. While putting on the mustard I got some on my fingers, and I went to lick it off. Well while licking my fingers, I noticed a weird taste...YUP!...I JUST LICKED HER POOP! hahahaha OMG!!! How can I forget?! This is the face Presley made when she realized I ate her poop...

I'll tell you what, being a mommy can be a dirty job!

I'll tell you what, being a mommy can be a dirty job!
Sunday, September 21, 2008
Greatest Blankets EVER!!
They are called Aden & Anais blankets! They are hands down the best blankets ever! They are super big, light, and great for swaddling! I got a bunch of blankets for Presley at my baby shower..but these are the only ones I use (Thanks Claudia). Some come in packages of four and some come in packages of two! This is a great gift for Mommy's to be and if your already a mommy, I highly recommend you getting this product! You can order them online at.... http://www.whateverybabyneeds.com . Check it out...they are a little pricey, but they are totally worth it!
Presley owns these four...
They are so cute and easy to just throw in the wash...
Presley owns these four...
They are so cute and easy to just throw in the wash...
Teething...
oh what a pleasant thing to be going through!! Her symptoms are: she's trying to put both her fist in her mouth at any possible moment. Has excessive drooling. She is very restless, and has a hard time getting comfortable! My poor baby! Last night, she couldn't fall asleep for more than 20 min at a time. And she would wake up screaming. That's not how Presley is normally, she usually wakes up with a huge smile on her face. So I did what most moms would do, I had to give her infant Tylenol (only a little bit) and she passed out and sleep great! and I got to see her smiling face this morning! So i knew that made her feel better. I don't want to rely on medicine every night so I think I'm going to invest in this pacifier ( thanks Christy) I hope it works! I'll let you all know the update on it.

The RaZBaby RaZ-Berry Silicone Teether is truly one of a kind. It's unique design, combining a silicone teether and pacifier in one, makes this item a must have!- babyearth.com
Features:
First hands-free all silicone teething pacifier
Stimulating, multi-textured, cherry shaped nipple
Soothes while baby plays
All silicone, non-toxic
Can be frozen for extra soothing comfort

The RaZBaby RaZ-Berry Silicone Teether is truly one of a kind. It's unique design, combining a silicone teether and pacifier in one, makes this item a must have!- babyearth.com
Features:
First hands-free all silicone teething pacifier
Stimulating, multi-textured, cherry shaped nipple
Soothes while baby plays
All silicone, non-toxic
Can be frozen for extra soothing comfort
Saturday, September 20, 2008
Pouty Lips ((A.K.A Ducky Lips))

Awww..is it wrong that Wade and I love this face? I mean she gets the biggest pouty lips when she is about to cry, and it's soooo cute! We call them "ducky lips" They are probably cute now, but I know what you're all thinking..Wait till she gets older, they won't be so cute then!....but until then I'll enjoy them =)!
Friday, September 19, 2008
Mommy on the Gooooo!!!

I'm a pretty busy bee these days. I have a lot on my plate and just when you think that your finally feeling relief of "Ahhh, put up my feet and just bum it out today" something comes up!! With me being a full time student, mommy, and taking care of things around the house I really don't have much time to just kick back and relax. I'm either doing laundry (Ladies be prepared to do a lot of baby laundry!!) or I'm catching up on homework while Presley naps (who said to sleep when baby sleeps?!ha.)or I'm constantly cleaning house! On top of all that, I want to start getting back into shape. Might as well just add that to my list of things to do! Surprisingly I actually enjoy being so busy. It makes my days go by faster and makes me feel productive! Being a "stay at home" mom is great for now, only because I really get to concentrate on Presley's developmental skills and I get to experience all the great new things shes doing! She is so much fun. Will I be a "stay at home mommy" absolutely NOT! haha it's not for me. I mean to those who are it's a tough job. But I think right now it's great that I stay home with her through her first year, I just also feel it's important that I don't forget what I like to do and who I am. So once I get my career going hopefully Wade and I will be able to work our schedules out so that one of us is with her at all times =) call me crazy, but if I want it my way, I'll make sure it goes my way! hahaha
Thursday, September 18, 2008
List of things We can't live without...
If your a "new mommy", or just confused on what to register for, or if your a friend getting a baby shower gift for your prego friend this is a list of some of My Must Haves!!
*Boppy Pillow (if planning on breast feeding)
*Breast Pump (if u want a babysitter and don't want a curfew)
*Swing (sometime babies just like to hang out and stare)
*Blankets (I recommend Aden+Anais brand)
*Jogging stroller (if you plan on working out)
*A Wipe Warmer (keep them warm not cold)
*Alcohol swabs ( for the cleaning of the umbilical cord)
*Diapers (obviously)
*Lots of inexpensive onsies (spit up will be your next perfume!)
*backpack (When baby just doesn't want to be alone)
*Books (never to early to start reading to your little one!)
This is Presley in her back pack>> She loves doing laundry and cleaning house with mommy! We also read books while she is just hanging out in there!!
*Boppy Pillow (if planning on breast feeding)
*Breast Pump (if u want a babysitter and don't want a curfew)
*Swing (sometime babies just like to hang out and stare)
*Blankets (I recommend Aden+Anais brand)
*Jogging stroller (if you plan on working out)
*A Wipe Warmer (keep them warm not cold)
*Alcohol swabs ( for the cleaning of the umbilical cord)
*Diapers (obviously)
*Lots of inexpensive onsies (spit up will be your next perfume!)
*backpack (When baby just doesn't want to be alone)
*Books (never to early to start reading to your little one!)
This is Presley in her back pack>> She loves doing laundry and cleaning house with mommy! We also read books while she is just hanging out in there!!
Attack of the Poopy Pants!
If your grossed out easily don't read any further...Read at your own risk....So Presley was constipated for four days straight! Poor baby right?! I mean she was pushing with all her might, you can see how hard she was working through her facial expressions. No luck. So her pediatrician said to give her 1 oz of prune juice. I did...and no luck I thought....UNTIL.... she was sitting on my lap and heard something not from this world coming out of her butt!! OMG...I ran to the room, holding her out in front of me and laid her down to change her. As soon as I opened up those diapers I was in for quite a surprise! There was no way in hell I was going to try to wipe that down...so I go to the next best thing THE SHOWER. As I head towards the bathroom, I'm holding her right in front of me with my arms stretched out and her little naked butt is heading straight for the tub! oh...it would seem that it was the "right" thing to do, ooohhh was I wrong!!! Before I even got her into the bath tub she pooped all over the bathroom and on me. It was the bad type of poop too. I mean not to get into detail but it was liquid! So now it was mommy and baby shower time! Lesson learned? umm cover the baby's butt with something while traveling through the house.
Motivation Fairy Came to Visit Me!!!
In other words, today I looked in the mirror! hahaha. When I say "I looked in the mirror" I mean I looked at my ass. I was horrified on what I saw. Let's just say I grinned at Presley and said alright no more sitting around...mommy needs to go out for a run! I figure that when she gets older and goes through that "you never do anything for me!" phase, I'll just point to my ass and my sexy stretch marks and say "I did this for you!!!" So this mama bones needs to get back into shape. Not just for myself but for my man also. I know I'm a mommy, but I also got to remember I'm his girl and I still want to look good for him.
Breast Feed or Formula?
This can be a huge deal to some people. It was for me because I felt that babies are meant to breast feed. I honestly believe it's like striking gold for babies! It's the best nutrition you can give your child and not only that, but you don't have to clean or warm up bottles and it's FREE! To me it was a no brainer, but I know some people who decided it was best for them to formula feed and I believe that whatever the mother feels comfortable doing they should do. Breast feeding is almost bitter-sweet. It's sweet because it's the best thing you can give your baby and it's so easy (once you get used to it) but bitter because "I'm her bitch" haha. Now before some of you get offended by that phrase...hear my side of it. I say this proudly with my head up high..but seriously there have been times where I been out shopping and I got to stop what I'm doing go out to my car and feed the little monkey or have purposely left 2 hours before my hair appointment in order to get there 20 minutes before my appointment so that I can feed her in the car right before I go in. That's why I say it, I mean it's the truth and I'm sure there is a better way of phrasing that, but I like that phrase :). Any way, I plan on breast feeding her till she is a year old. Yes, it's a long time but I know it's best for her and that's more important to me. Even if I am sacrificing losing those last 10 lbs or my boobs not being as perky as they used to be..so be it. I'm willing to deal with that.
postpartum depression
Unfortunately it happens to the best of us. In some cases, some are worse than others. Mine I would say was mild, but I definitely had it and I'm not ashamed of it because it happens. Mine wasn't the kind where I wanted to hurt my baby, mine was more I was just a huge cry baby! Just having this sweet little angel finally here made me worry about so much. I wanted to be the best mommy ever and I feared that if something happened to her I would never forgive myself. You hear horror stories of SIDS and other horrible things that can happen to babies, and as moms some of us can't help but obsess over it and stay up all night and stare at that little angel breath all night! I mean I was up for four days straight..crying...and staring..I think I freaked Wade out. Until one day Wade said "Toni get in that room and sleep for a few hours, and your not allowed to take your phone or come out!" So I did, he was right I was making myself worse by not sleeping or eating. Any way a few days past and I was back to my normal self. I got into a routine with her and we were all good. Sometimes it just takes someone to get into a routine and to get some sleep. So for those expecting mothers, if you happen to feel like an emotional wreck..go eat some food and lay down..let daddy handle things! They are just as good and as careful as you are! Trust them.
<
<
Introduction

So I'm making this blog site for the sole purpose of "Mommy hood!" I will share my stories with everyone!There will be funny ones,ones that may make you tear up,and probably gross ones too! You know why? because it's all part of being a mommy! I have a lot of friends who are expecting and friends who already had children. I thought this would be fun especially for those of you who will hit your third trimester and find yourself doing absolutely nothing but sitting on the couch and feeling huge. So cheers...this is officially my first blog.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
